Saturday Vase final


John Moody
Played at Havant and Waterlooville FC on 1st April 2023
Full Time: Bisterne United Dorset Reserves 0 - 0 Silchester Village
Bisterne United win 5-4 after penalties

It took some time for both sides to settle into this cup final but it soon became obvious that this was a match between two evenly matched teams and consequently the match ended in a 0-0 draw.

Despite this there were many chances created but not taken, the first falling to to Ian Jones of Silchester when he had a chance with a free-kick on the edge of the penalty area, but his shot was deflected for a corner which was cleared.

Bisterne hit back with Yusuf Akanni going close from a corner. Right on half time a chance fell to Stephen Burgess of Silchester who forced 'keeper Luke Horton into a good save.

The second half followed a similar pattern with neither side finding the breakthrough. Silchester's Connor Stratton had a good early shot saved.

A penetrating run by Bisterne's Bazram Dzuka resulted in a shot which looked goal-bound but 'keeper Jack Grady kept it out and that was about it as the final minutes rolled slowly towards the dreaded penalty shootout.

Both sides scored with their first penalties, unfortunately Silchester missed their second and Bisterne went on to net all their rest, so wining the cup.


Match Officials:

Referee: Bruce Waymark

Assistant Referee: Garry Collins

Assistant Referee: Samuel Wright

Fourth Official: Paul Hicks


The Match was sponsored by the ATS Group.

The Player of the Match Award went to Bisterne United's Luke Horton.


The squads: 

Bisterne United Dorset Reserves: Luke Horton, Pat Rogerson, Michael Sill, Alfie Philips, James Morris, Cai McEwan, Josh Morris, Jamie Hackett, Taylor Wake, Charlie King, Yusuf Akanni, Claudio Carvalho, Jordan Byfield, Max Vaughan-Thomas, Jamie Barrett and Bazram Dzuka.

Silchester Village - Jack Grady, Jason Kingston, Mario Nurse, Joe Tallentire, Karl Russell, Tom Etheridge, Stephen Burgess, Ian Jones, Dan Vickers, Connor Stratton, James Tennant, Merson Webb, Callum Bush, Adam Griffiths, and Trent Barrington.