Hampshire FA John Ward Sunday Senior Cup Final Winners 2022

East Christchurch SSC Win the John Ward Sunday Senior Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA John Ward Sunday Senior Cup Final 2022 Match Report

Hawley 0 East Christchurch Sports and Social Club 4

This final was played at the Winklebury Football Complex in Basingstoke, on Sunday 16th May 2022, and was the last of three County Cup finals held during the day; the first two in dull weather, this final in torrential rain!

A minutes silence was held before the kick off in memory of Robin Osborne, President of the Hampshire Football Association, who had recently passed away.

Christchurch got off to a great start in the 12th minute when Dan Hancock lashed the ball home from close in, giving Hawley's 'keeper, Warwick Chouce-Hancox, no chance. They continued to press and went further ahead in the 17th minute when Elliott Hartnell-Baker hit the bar and then scored with the rebound.

Well on top at this stage, Christchurch suffered a set back when they lost both Hartnell-Baker and Jaimie Trimble through injury, but this did not hold them back and they went three-up in the 26th minute when Alex Hancox headed past the advancing 'keeper.

Hawley came back and Jacob Smith slammed a free-kick against the crossbar and just before half-time, Alex Hancox had a shot well saved by Christchurch's 'keeper, Dan Samson.

Hawley started the second half well with Luke Edmonson seeing a goal-bound shot tipped round the post. Gradually, however, Christchurch began to dominate and Dan Brown turned in the box, but his shot was well saved.

In the 75th minute, Christchurch ensured the win when Alex Whitehouse saw his shot squeeze under the kneeling 'keeper and rebound off the post, which he trolled into the empty net.

Right on time, Whitehouse came very close but his shot was just wide of the post.

The match was sponsored by Adopt South and the match ball by DGCS.

The Referee was Tom Baines and he was Assisted by Mick Ridge and Huw Evans. The Fourth Official was Cashel O'Neil.

The Player of the Match Award went to East Christchurch's Alex Whitehouse.

The cup and winners medals were presented Freida Ward, widow of John and family.


The squads

Hawley FC:

Warwick Chouce-Hancox, Alfie Borszcz, Tony Trinder, Shaun Simms, Connor Brewer, Jacob Smith, Michael Stairs, Nathan Connolly, Harry Bowman, Luke Edmonson, Simon Edmunson, Lewis Black, Lee Jones, James Greens and Scott Davis.

East Christchurch Sports and Social Club:

Dan Samson, Dan Whitehouse, Jordan Gentle, Gavin Haynes, Andrie Munteanu, Jamie Trimble, Dan Hancock, Alex Whitehouse, Dan Brown, Leui Rideulgh, Elliott Hartnell-Baker, Dave Midgley, Darren Orchard, Morgan Waugh and Alex Hancox.