Hampshire FA Women's Trophy Final Winners 2022

AFC Portchester Win the Women's Trophy

John Moody
Hampshire FA Women's Trophy Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Eastleigh in the Community Res'  0  Portchester Ladies  3

The final was played at Winklebury Football Complex in Basingstoke on 8th May 2022. A minute's silence was observed in memory of Robin Osborne, the Hampshire Football Association President, who recently passed away.

The match was sponsored by the Hampshire County Women's Football League and the match ball was sponsored by Elanse Cleaning.

Despite the score, this match was closer than indicated and perhaps could have been even closer had a few of Eastleigh's players not played in the Saturday final the day before!

Portchester struck first when Eilidh Currie scored in the third minute and they continued their pressure when Lynsey Crewe shot through a melee which was saved by 'keeper Hollie Keefe and soon after Aimee Hill-Guy put in a run and her shot hit the post.

Eastleigh's first chance fell to Molly Metcalfe but she shot wide. Another chance came to Danielle O'Leary, who found herself clear but Portchester's 'keeper, Roxy Roberts, smothered the ball.

Just before half-time Eastleigh's Emma Simpson was just wide with a free kick.

The second half followed the first with both teams creating chances. Currie, for Portchester, shot from long range and was not far off and Eastleigh's Poppy Chandler picked up a midfield ball and ran into the box, but a poor shot was her only result.

Portchester increased their lead in the 55th minute when a box-to-box clearance found Charmaine True, who beat the 'keeper' from close in.

In the 74th minute Portchester secured the cup when True scored her second goal; a great individual effort.

Almost on time, Eastleigh nearly scored a consolation goal when O'Leary shot just wide.

The Referee was Graham Smith and he was assisted by Max Ashley and Fern Holleyoak and the Fourth Official was Dan Mawer.

The Player of the Match Award went to Portchester's Samantha Jennings


The Squads

Eastleigh in the Community:

Hollie Keefe, Molly Pinnick, Danielle O'Leary, Jodie Edmonds, Georgiana Grogan, Emma Simpson, Maya Gibbons, Emilia  Parzyszek, Larnie Bisson, Molly Metcalf, Phoebe Hudson (c), Poppy Chandler, Leah Board, Florence Paget, Shi Yu Pan and Amelia Jenkins.

AFC Portchester:

Roxy Roberts, Tara-Jane Hewitt, Kayleigh Merrett, Lynsey Crewe, Laura Stretcher, Shannon Woods, Elia Wilson, Ellie Hooker, Samantha Jennings, Eilidh Currie, Aimee Hall-Guy, Bella Longyear, Emma Pickering, Ava Colbourne, Chloe Nicholls and Charmaine True.