Hampshire FA Girls U18 Cup Final Winners 2022

Eastleigh in the Community Win the Girls U18 Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Girls U18 Cup Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Clanfield FC  0  Eastleigh in the Community  3

The Girls Saturday Under 18's Cup final was held at Winklebury Football Complex in Basingstoke on 7th May 2022. The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions.

A minute's silence was observed before kick-off in memory Robin Osborne the President of the Hampshire Football Association, who passed away recently.

Eastleigh started well and netted in the first minute but the goal was ruled offside. They did, however, take the lead a minute later through Dani O'Leary, who netted from close range.

O'Leary went very close and a few minutes later she had another chance but 'keeper Manon Melville made a good save.

Clanfield came back and Lucy Amey forced a save from 'keeper Louise Forder and a few minutes later Maddie Bond put in a long run to the edge of the Eastleigh penalty area but put her shot over the bar.

Just before half time Bournemouth almost took the lead O'Leary jinxed her way into the penalty box but hit the side netting with her shot.

The second half belonged to Eastleigh as their more experienced side gradually dominated the game. Madeline Cass put in a powerful header which was well saved but she put the rebound in (57th minute).

Clanfield defended well for long periods but in the 85th minute Poppy Chandler scored with a powerful shot from just outside the box.

The Referee was Aaron Gallimore who was Assisted by Adam Jackson and Kevin Batten. The Fourth Official was David Simpson.

The Player of the Match Award went to Eastleigh's Poppy Chandler.


The Squads


Manon Melville, Melissa Bembridge, Niamh Buxton, Millie Smith, Taylor Whitefield, Chloe Marsh, Brodgan Collier, Amber Murray, Maddie Bond, Kirsty Tickner, Sophie Tiller, Lucy Amey and Georgie Cosens.

Eastleigh in the Community:

Tilly Jackson, Florence Paget, Mackenzie Richards, Katryna Kavanagh, Libby Mitchell, Poppy Chandler, Ellie Callaway (c), Louise Forder, Amelia Jenkins, Dani O'Leary, Faith Holman, Aleigha Apperley, Madeline Cass, Georgina Grogan, Elizabeth Brooke and Leah Etheridge.