Hampshire FA Girls U16 Cup Final Winners 2022

AFC Stoneham Win the Girls U16 Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Girls U16 Cup Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

AFC Bournemouth  0  AFC Stoneham  3

The Girls Saturday Under 16's Cup final was held at the Winklebury Football Complex in Basingstoke on 7th May 2022. The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions.

A minute's silence was observed before kick-off in memory Robin Osborne the President of the Hampshire Football Association, who passed away recently.

Despite the scoreline this final was close with both sides cancelling each other out.

Bournemouth were the first to show, with Elin Stark putting a long-range shot over the bar. Stoneham hit back when Aimee Gritt tested 'keeper' Oriaith O'Mahony, who saved well. Back came Bournemouth as Kristina MacKinnon shot just over the bar.

At the other end Stoneham's Ede Buchele put in a good run but the 'keeper saved with her feet.

The first goal came in the 28th minute when Gritt sent a looping shot over the 'keeper to put Stoneham into the lead. Bournemouth nearly equalised just before half-time when Tallulah O'Brien came close with 'keeper' Kezia Holmes  scrambling the ball off the line with her feet.

In the second half, Bournemouth fell away from their first half performance to allow Stoneham to edge ahead. Stoneham went two-up in the 49th minute when Buchele ended a constructive move to net from close range.

A mistake by the 'keeper and a defender let in Stoneham's Kayleigh Maishman to put her side further ahead in the 57th minute and, as Stoneham continued to press, Iyna Patel put in a long run and narrowly missed with a cross shot.

The final was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions and the Player of the Match Award went to Stoneham's Aimee Gritt.

The Referee was Samuel Rowell and his Assistants were Kathryn Bonning and Hayden Prout and the Fourth Official was William Stephens.


The Squads

AFC Bournemouth:

Oriaith O'Mahony (c), India Gregory, Anisha Mathema, Kristina MacKinnon, Charlotte Heaver-Webb, Sophie Lerigo, Holly Humphreys, Charlotte Kerr, Yasmin Wall, Elin Stark, Emily Adams, Teah Stone, Talulah O'Brien, Georgia Reeks and Olivia Goadsby.

AFC Stoneham:

Kezia Holmes, Kyla Hayes, Amelia Primmer, Poppie Weekes, Dakota Enikvva, Mia Delaney, Ana Machado, Aimee Gritt, Molly Gladwell, Ede Buchele, Jamie Bland (c), Sophie Moore, Mia Parkin, Iyna Patel and Kayleigh Maishman.