Hampshire FA Boys Saturday U16 Cup Final Winners 2022

Camberley Town Youth Win the Boys Saturday U16 Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Boys Saturday U16 Cup Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Camberley Town Youth  2  Eastleigh FC Orange  1

The Boys Saturday Under 16's Cup final was held at Winklebury Football Complex in Basingstoke on 7th May 2022. The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions.

A minute's silence was observed before kick-off in memory Robin Osborne the President of the Hampshire Football Association who passed away recently.

This final proved to be a tight affair between two evenly matched opponents with Camberley's 'keeper', Dan Pereira, being called into action within seconds of the kick-off, saving from Eastleigh's Solomon Arib.

Camberley hit back with a long range shot from Shaun Dargahi, which went close. The breakthrough came in in the 10th minute when a shot took a rebound that deceived 'keeper Shea Woodsford and crossed the line. The unexpected goal gave Camberley more confidence and a good run by Ryan Rhana saw him  put his shot wide of the post.

Eastleigh got back into the game in the 18th minute when Arib completed a good move and netted from just outside the penalty area. In the next attack, Eastleigh's Joseph Speroni hit the crossbar and a few minutes later James Mcindoe sliced wide when in a goalscoring position. Just before half-time Rana hit the Camberley post.

The second half  was even closer than the first with Camberley on the attack first when Josh Thorngate lobbed a ball which 'keeper Woodsford tipped over the bar. They came close when Seb Hewitt crossed  but there was no-one in the box to tap the ball into the empty net.

With time running out and the dreaded penalty shootout looming, Camberley won the cup a minute from full-time when a penalty was awarded for a tackle in the box and Alfie Bradley coolly converted the spot-kick.

The Player of the Match award was given to Camberley's goalkeeper Dan Pereira.

The Referee was Jacob Kniveton and his Assistants were Chris Metherell and Dru Ross and the Fourth Official was Callum Fairweather.


The Squads

Camberley Town Youth:

Dan Pereira, Josh Thorngate, Shaun Dargahi, Bobby Moore,  Alfie Bradley (c), Mack Clayton, Tylar Clayton, Ryan Rana, Lucas Daniel, Seb Hewitt, Jack Lewin, Jack O'Donnell, Toby Bonfield, Aaron Siuthani and Fin Buchanan.

Eastleigh FC Orange:

Shea Woodsford, Sam Godfrey (c), Teddy Munford, Joy Nzambi, Connor Underhill, Brandon Boyce, Ethan Duell-Merritt, Soloman Arbib, Joseph Speroni, Harvey Chogugudza, Lennon Ayling, Callum White, Valentino Clima, Luke Boston and James McIndoe.