Hampshire FA Russell-Cotes Cup Winners 2022

Brockenhurst Win the Russell-Cotes Benevolent Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Russell-Cotes Benevolent Cup Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Brockenhurst FC  4  Hamble FC  4
Penalties: 5 - 3

The Russell-Cotes Benevolent Cup final was held on a typical early summer evening at the Meadens Skoda Arena, Brockenhurst, on Tuesday 3rd May 2022. The weather was fine, the pitch was in a very good condition considering it was at the end of the season, a gate of 357 ensured a good atmosphere and the teams put on a cracking final, which kept everyone on their toes from the first whistle to the last kick.

A minute's silence was well observed for Robin Osborne the President of the Hampshire Football Association, who had died recently.

It was Hamble who dominated the first quarter of an hour, having a penalty appeal turned down in the 5th minute and Lewis Nagle, when well placed, put his shot wide with only the 'keeper to beat, but it was Brockenhust who opened the scoring in the 16th minute when Silvano Obeng tapped the ball over the line from a cross with 'keeper Ash Downs wrong-footed. 

Hamble's Nagle went close hitting the side netting.

Brockenhurst went two-up in the 29th minute when Obeng was pulled down in the box as Brockenhurst tried to clear and the Referee pointed to the spot. Mitchel Speechley-Price stepped up and buried the ball into the back of the net with 'keeper Downs helpless.

Hamble continued to press and a good ball from Sanchez McLean set up Kelvin Robinson which brought out a good save by 'keeper James Mayo. They got back in the game when Nagle scored a great individual goal in the 39th minute beating the 'keeper after a run had taken him deep into the penalty area. 

A few minutes later they were on even terms when Ryan Wilkins was pulled down just outside the penalty area and Ovington netted the free kick.

Right on half-time, Brocks' Obeng missed a sitter when all he had to do was to tap a cross over the line at the far post but instead screwed it wide.

Another chance was missed early in the second half by Hamble's Harvey Ingledew-Coak who picked up a through ball but screwed his shot wide. After this let-off, Brockenhurst began to dominate the game. Alex Haynes forced a good save and in the 65th minute Brockenhurst took the lead again through Obeng, who finished a move set-up by Connor Ings.

The game could have changed dramatically in the 67th minute when Hamble's Ovington was red-carded but it did not and the ten men of Hamble battled to the very end and in fact fought back to equalise to send the game into a penalty shoot out.

Before that however, Brockenhurst scored their fourth goal through Kieran O'Donnell in the 71st minute and looked to be coasting to the cup. Addwell Chipangura had the chance to put them further ahead but shot wide.

In the space of ten minutes the game did change dramatically, first Hamble's Robinson lobbed the ball over the advancing goalkeeper in the 84th minute and Nagle scored the equaliser in the 90th plus 4th minute converting a long punt upfield.

That goal triggered the dreaded penalty shoot out and with the score standing at three gaols each, Brockenhurst's 'keeper Mayo became the hero of the final after he had scored a penalty then saved Hamble's fourth thus giving his team the last chance to win and they did converting the last penalty.

The Referee was Martin Bloor and he was Assisted by Alan Gower and Rodney Burt. The fourth Official was Tom Copping.

The match was sponsored by Harold G Walker Solicitors and the match ball was sponsored by Adopt South. Brockenhurt's Christie Ward was selected as the player of the match.


The squads:

Brockenhurst FC:

James Mayo, Connor Ings, Addwell Chapangura, Dom Penesar-Dower, Joe Chanberlain, Brad Magookin, Kieran O'Donnell, Alex Hayes, Silvano Obeng, Christie Ward, Mitchell Speechley-Price, Nathan Frans, Ben Dukes, Joe Stacey, George Pomeroy and Matt Sheedy.

Hamble FC:

Ash Downs, Mac Gange, Ryan Wilkins, Harvey Chivers, Callum Kitcher, Jaimie Ovington, Lewis Nagle, Charlie Wagstaff, Sanchez McClean, Hartvey Ingeldew-Coak, Craig Hunt, Ryan Timmins, Joel Ghosh, Archie Ford and Charlie Handcock.