Horndean U18's Reds - Winners of the Hampshire FA Sunday U18's Cup 2022

Horndean Win the Boys Sunday U18 Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Boys Sunday U18 Cup Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Winchester City Red  0  Horndean Red  1

The final was held at Alton Town FC on 24th April 2021. A minute's silence was observed in memory of the President of the Hampshire Football Association, Robin Osborne, who had passed away recently.

Winchester started the match on the attack and a long shot from David Ghika was just wide, but after ten minutes of positive press, they conceded an unnecessary penalty when their 'keeper' Kinrad Szysko came too far off his line and was stranded in the penalty box taking out an attacker. The penalty was awarded and Evan Harris put Horndean into the lead.

Winchester continued to apply the pressure and Jackson Scorey had a good shot saved by Lewis Mees. In another attack, Harry Roberts shot wide after being well-placed in front of goal.

Horndean fought back and just before half-time Harris hit the Winchester cross bar.

Winchester came out strongly in the second half and kept Horndean penned in their own half for a while.  Reese Hodan  skimmed the Horndean crossbar and David Ghika hit a post after winning the ball in midfield and almost on half time Sam Godfrey put in a jinxing run but pushed his shot just passed the post.

Horndean defended very well, especially during the second half  and the Player of the Match Award went to Evan Harris.

The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy. The Referee was Rob Harrison, who was assisted by Ed Alderslade and Billy Chafe and the Fourth Official was George Redford.


The Squads

Horndean Red:

Lewis Mees, Owen Perkins, Mason Garvey, Max Innals, Josh Barnden, Zac Brownlie, Evan Harris (c), Lawrence Cooper, Marvin Meal, Joe Warren, Alfie Stone, Ken Morgan, Angelo Harris, Taylor Cook and Will Hall.

Winchester City Red:

Konrad Szysko, Josh Bowler, Jack Wureres, Robert Elms, Reece Kempton (c), Harvey Chogugudza, Jackson Scorey, David Ghika, Harry Roberts, Reggie Hodan, Sam Godfrey and Oscar Newby.