Millbrook U14's Reds - Winners of the Hampshire FA Sunday U14's Cup 2022

Millbrook Win the Boys Sunday U14 Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Boys Sunday U14 Cup Final 2022 Match Programme

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Millbrook FC  1  Lymington Town Sprites 0

The final was held at Alton Town FC on 24th April 2021. A minute's silence was observed in memory of the President of the Hampshire Football Association, Robin Osborne, who had passed away recently.

This was a very close final with both sides giving their all on their special cup final day.

It was Lymington who made the first move when Harry Swagger found himself free in the penalty area set up Archie Crabb but 'keeper' Harvey Bartlett  saved well.

Millbrook hit back as Louis Thompson tested 'keeper' Kieron Pardey, who pushed the ball over the bar. They took the lead in the 20th minute when Thompson headed home from a corner. This goal gave Millbrook some confidence and Liam MacFarlane missed a good opportunity to increase the lead but shot weakly.

The second half followed the pattern of the first with Lymington on the attack first with Swagger getting in a good shot. Millbrook came right back and Thompson sliced his shot with the 'keeper' looking beaten.

As full time approached Lymington upped the pressure with a long shot by Crabb, well saved. A shot shot wide by Henry Courts and a chance for Finley Gogan, which he also put wide.

The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy and the Referee was Phoenix Collins, who was assisted by Harley Dixon and Vicor Adynec. The Fourth Official was Charlie Neville.

The Player of the Match Award went to Millbrook's Archie Downs.

The Squads

Millbrook FC:

Harvey Bartlett, Joe Pelletier, Liam MacFarlane (c), Archie Downs, Leo Chance, Alfie Barrett, Mitchell Gorman, Alfie Male, Oscar McCulioch, Oliver Kemble, Louis Thompson, Jack Topley, Matthew Hide, Charlie Lakin, George Bowers and Albie Dewey.

Lymington Sprites:

Kieran Pardey, John Defriues, Archie Crabb, Luca Hollyoake, Brandon Mills, David Smith-Alferet, Tom Watkins, Aaron Christie (c), Dragos Neagu, Harry Swager, Finley Gogan, Hardy Mcloughlin, Zach Bennett and Henry Courts.