Hampshire FA Saturday U14 Cup Final Winners 2022

Millbrook JPL Win the Boys Saturday U14 Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Boys Saturday U14 Cup Final 2022 Match Report

📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery

Eastleigh Tornadoes  2  Millbrook JPL  3

The final was held at the Winklebury Football Hub at Basingstoke. on Saturday 21st May 2022. A minutes silence was observed before the kick off in memory of Robin Osborne the President of the Hampshire Football Association who recently passed away.

The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions and the match balls sponsors were Graham Scambler Photography.

This final turned out to be a cracking game with the result in doubt right up to added time.

Millbrook started well and took the lead in the 11th minute when Alfie Male converted a free kick. They could have gone further ahead when Oscar McCulloch shot over the bar when well placed. He also had a good shot saved by 'keeper' Reece Kellu and in the next attack shot just over the bar.

Eastleigh's Dominic Scambler went close just before half time.

Early in the second half Millbrook's Louis Thompson doubled their lead with a great curving shot into the top corner of the net.

It looked as if Eastleigh were back in the game when Alfie Cook picked up the ball in midfield from a clearance by Leo Cassar but had his shot saved by 'keeper' Rio Hale. They were back in the game, however, in the 45th minute when Barney Gillooly pushed the ball over the line in a goalmouth scramble.

Millbrook struck back almost immediately when McCulloch scored from a free kick but he was ruled offside.

In the 52nd minute Eastleigh equalised when Enrico Cavagnetto-Carter scored from close range. A few minutes later it looked as if Millbrook had won the cup when Louis Thompson slid the ball across the line but he too, was ruled offside.

The winner did come from Millbrook, however, in added time when Jayden Peckham saw his shot rebound off the 'keeper's' back and rocket into the net.

The Player of the Match Award went to Millbrook's Louis Thompson.

The Referee was Matthew Vokes and he was Assisted by James Thurston and Lewis Jennings. The Fourth Official was Stuart Huffer.


The squads:

Eastleigh Tornadoes:

Reece Kellu, Spencer Mullen, Leo Cassar, Alfie Cook, Keegan Kelly, Ryan Choate, Alejandro Rodrigues Gomes, Barney Gillooly, Louie Saunders, Dominic Scambler, Callum Izzard, Toby Marwood, Enrico Cavagnetto-Carter, and Finley Allwood.

Millbrook JPL:

Rio Hale, Mitchell Gorman, Liam McFarlane, Oliver Kimble, Archie Downs, Leo Chance, Alfie Barrett, Jayden Peckham, Louis Thompson, Oscar McCulloch, Alfie Male, George Bowers, Joe Pelletier, Albie Dewey and Charlie Lakin.  


📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery
📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery
📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery
📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery
📸 - Graham Scambler Photography | View Match Gallery