Pan Community FC - Winners of the Hampshire FA Saturday Vase 2022

Pan Community FC Win the Saturday Vase

John Moody
Hampshire FA Saturday Vase Final 2022 Match Report


The first of the Hampshire Football Association's seven cup finals played over three venues during the weekend of 23rd and 24th April 2022 took place at Westleigh Park, Havant, the home of Havant and Waterlooville FC. A minute's silence was observed in memory of the President of the Hampshire Football Association Robin Osborne, who had passed away recently.

The first to show was St Francis' Jamie Driver who put a free-kick wide in the opening minutes of the match. A few minutes later Pan's Mark Taylor was also awarded a similar free kick which he netted to open the score.

St Francis hit back when Sam Middleton had a good header saved by 'keeper Joe Williams and nearly equalised when Matt Driver's shot was well held by Williams.

Pan were gradually having the best of the the play and were rewarded in the 30th minute when Josh Gwilliam's corner was either tipped over the line by the slightest of a touch by the 'keeper or the strong wind helped the ball over to put them two-up. Two minutes later, Pan's Ross Lacey poked the ball home in a melee and a couple of minutes later he scored again from close range from a cross.

With the game looking lost for St Francis they were given hope by Matt Driver who was brought down in the box with Jamie Driver tucking away the penalty.

The goal gave St Francis the confidence they needed and they started well in the second half and pulled another goal back in the 51st minute when Matt Driver headed in after a good build-up. In the 58th minute they had the opportunity to narrow the gap again when Driver took a penalty for a foul on George Shaw but unfortunately for him Williams saved but failed to hold the ball and Matt Arkinstall hit the post from the rebound and the ball was cleared. From that point it was all Pan and in the 61st minute Lacey scored from close range after a good run.

A minute later Lacey scored again after a well-worked move saw him slide the ball home. Two further goals in the latter stages of the game secured Pan the cup by a wide margin. Robbie Shepherd had a shot blocked and Josh Gwilliam pushed the rebound over the line (73rd) and in the 80th minute Shepherd was rewarded when he completed a good inter-passing move to score with a fine crisp shot.

The Referee was Harry Waldron and was assisted by Paul Bower and Rhiannon Stevens. The Fourth Official was Mark Robertson. The final was sponsored by Horris Hill School and the match ball was sponsored by BSA Regal.

The Player of the Match Award went to Pan's Ross Lacey.


The Squads:

Pan Community FC:

Joe Williams, Sam Shepherd, Tyler Thorne, Sam Williams, Joshua Piper (c), Lennox Dunkling, Josh Gwilliam, Robbie Shepherd, Mark Taylor, Ashley Gulliver, Ross Lacey, Jack Davies, Alex Hutton, Kaylum Case and Sean Gwilliam.

St Francis FC:

Will Vockins, Valentin Daskalov, George Shaw, Sam Middleton, Andy Bonnon, Jamie Driver, Sam Williams, Matt Arkinstall, James Thorn, Matt Driver, Chandler Dean, Jay Farrelly, Dan Warren, Davi Rodrigues, Ruben Pinto and Pedro Monteiro.