Citygate FC -  Faith Cup Winners

Citygate Win the Faith Cup

John Moody
Hampshire FA Faith Cup Final 2022 Match Report

Godfirst FC 0  Citygate FC 6

The Hampshire Football Association's Faith Cup final was played at Ringwood Town FC on a very cold and windy evening, which made playing difficult for both sides. Before kick-off, a minutes silence was held in memory of the Association's President Robin Osborne, who had recently passed away. This was followed by the traditional Faith Cup prayer in the centre circle.

The first quarter of an hour saw both teams trying to settle and the first strike came from Citygate's Lewis Hill, but was a weak shot easily saved by 'keeper Joe Ranger.

As time went by, it became obvious that that Citygate were the strongest team and Harry Salter came close when he headed just over the bar. The breakthrough came in the 15th minute when Citygate's Steve Lewis squeezed his shot under the diving 'keeper.

A good move in the 20th minute saw Citygate's Shaun Parker-Banton set-up a chance for Matty Burnett to double the score. They moved further ahead in the 28th minute when Lewis Hill scored with a shot just outside the the penalty box.

Citygate went in at half time four-up when Sam Birke shot through a melee with the 'keeper unsighted (38th minute).

The second half was not so one-sided as Godfirst tried to fight back with captain Ryan Foord trying to raise his team. Elliot Coates worked hard at the front but had no luck in front of goal and Jesus De Ornelas dominated midfield but lacked support.

It was not until the the 82nd minute that Citygate clinched the Cup when James Ejine scored their fifth goal from close range.

The match was sponsored by Horris Hill School and the Referee was Andre Linford, who was assisted by Keith Jackson and Alistair Buckie. The Fourth Official was David Pickles. The match ball was sponsored by Bettavend.


The squads:

Godfirst FC: Joe Range, Ryan Foord (captain), Dan Stone, Earl Gooden, Sam Cannock, Matt Muzelle, Dan Fay, Elliott Coates, Jesus De Ornelas, Alex Davidson, Mark Midgely, Niall Fifer, Max Vaughan-Thomas, Luca Lazzi-Muspratt and Chris Francis.

Citygate FC: Josh Daniels, Elliot Lewis, Sam Birt, Dave Brown, Harry Salter, Will Foster, Lewis Hill, Shaun Parker – Banton, Matty Burnett, Tom Hurd, Terry Daly, Steve Lucas, Darryl Collins, Brad Connell, James Ejime and Craig Miles.