U18s Sunday Cup Final

John Moody
Moneyfields 4 - AFC Stoneham 1

The first half an hour of this final was a close fought match with neither side gaining a distinct advantage, but this changed dramatically with a sending off.


The first to show were Stoneham with a penetrating run by Ross Lamb which resulted in a corner, well cleared. As Stoneham pressed, Josh Underhill shot just wide after he had picked up a rebound and he came near again when he had a free kick saved by 'keeper Sam Richards.


At the other end, Moneyfield's Dehran McLay-Hodge was beginning to boss the midfield and Harry Close was bothering the opposition with his runs.


Disaster struck Stoneham on the stroke of the half hour when a second yellow resulted in a red card. They received another hammer blow from the resultant free-kick when McLay-Hodge headed home the opening goal.


Early in the second half, Stoneham were back on level terms when Underhill scored from a penalty (48th minute).


Gradually being one man short took its toll and Moneyfields were able to control the game and Caleb Neale forced a good save from Ben Godwin from a corner. They went back into the lead in the 52nd minute when Bassy Stott powered home from the edge of the penalty area giving the 'keeper no chance.


Stoneham defended well as Moneyfields pressed but they were unable to stop Joe Clarke scoring a third for them after a good two-man move. The cup was clinched for Moneyfields in the 77th minute when Neale put in a run and struck his shot across the 'keeper and into the far corner of the net.


The Referee was James Byng and his Assistants were Callum Allen and Sean Ridley.

The Fourth Official was Harry Redman.

The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions.

The Player of the Match Award went to Moneyfields Dehran McLay-Hodge.


The squads:

AFC Stoneham: Ben Godwin, Kieran James, Aaron Parker, Oliver Ingram, Alex Oxley-Thorn, Ben Winslade, John McCormack, David Gkika, Ben Backhurst, Charlie Godfrey, Ross Lamb, Joe Hampton, Carlos Gregory, Kevin Ngombi, Josh Underhill and Diego Ramos.


Moneyfields: Adam Amos, Adam Voller, Bassy Stott, Callum Aitken, Caleb Neale, Charlie McNally, Dan Barratt, Dehran McLay-Hodge, Harry Close, Jimmy Mumford, Joe Powles, Josh Hughes, Josh Neale, Louie Wakefield, Lucca Toms, Michael Wiltshire, Ollie Minty-Clarke, Raff Boyd-Kerr, Sam Richards, Teddy O'Neil Joe Clarke, Jude Blake, Robbie Davies and Harvey Brown.