HFA Stock

Hampshire FA Sunday Vase Final

John Moody
Test Valley Spartans 4 - Woolton Hill Argyle 0

The Hampshire Football Association hosted its Sunday Vase final at its Winklebury Football Complex on Friday night which turned out to be a close match despite the score. The difference between the two teams being that the Spartans were sharper in front of goal, with four different players scoring. 


It was the Argyle who started well and soon called into action 'keeper Jimmy Todd who made a good save straight from the kick-off. It was, however, the Spartans who scored first in the fifth minute with Josh Sennet finishing a good move with a well-placed shot which left 'keeper, Karl Sargison with no chance.


This early goal gave the Spartans to push they needed, and they nearly went further ahead when Sam McCall had a shot tipped over the bar. From the corner Bradley Coperthwaite headed just wide.


In the 21st minute, the Argyle had the chance to equalise when they were awarded a penalty but Steve Burrows shot wide. They hit back a few minutes later when Jordan Sharp crossed but no-one in the box managed to get a touch. Sharpe was again in action in the next attack but headed over the bar when well placed.


Early in the second half Sharpe had another chance but again put his shot wide. This turned out to be vital miss as in the 47th minute Spartan's Callum Parker converted a long cross to put them two up.


Their third goal came in the 65th minute when Tony Sullivan cracked a deflection in the box and blasted home from close range. The Spartans clinched the cup in the 80th minute when McCall scored a great individual goal, weaving his way through the defence to score from close range.


Argyle never gave up and could have snatched a consolation right on time, but Steve Burrows sliced his shot wide.


The Referee was James Crascail and his Assistants were Jason Smith and Kurtisss Robison. The Fourth Official was Adam Hillier.

The match was sponsored by Child Trophies.

The Player of the Match Award went to Spartan's Sam McCall.


The squads: 

Test Valley Spartans: Jimmy Todd, Bradley Coperthwaite, Callum Chunnul, Josh Sennet, Mike Prilden, Will Fitzsimmons, Craig King, Sam Grube, Fraser McLean, Sam McCall, Callum Parker, Jason Collier, Grant Murdoch, Richard Weaver, Andre Smedley and Tony Sullivan.


Woolton Hill Argyle: Karl Sargison, Archie Dyson, Toby Nethercott, Sam Mulvey, Liam Head, Theo Strong, Luke Bromely Jordan Sharpe, Daniel Field, Sean Barker, Steve Burrows, Adrian Monger, Jack Crossan, Jamie Wallin, Josh Smart and Ben Perrings.