Saturday Junior A and B Cup Final Reports

Hampshire FA
All the action from the Hampshire FA Saturday Junior A and Junior B Cup Finals sponsored by Child Trophies



Harvest Home 4 – Gotham 1 played at Wicor Recreation Ground on Saturday 27th April 2019.


Two early goals on a wind-swept Wicor Recreation Ground pitch set Harvest Home to dominate. They opened the scoring in the 8th minute when Nathan Newer put in a penetrating run and scored with a hard shot.


As they pressed forward they were awarded a penalty in the 17th minute which was converted by Zach MacGregor.


Gotham tried to get back in the game but good defending kept them at bay. They looked as if they would score just before half time when a free kick by Shane Sheridan was spilled by 'keeper Joe Turner but he recovered the ball before damage could be done.


Gotham were back in the game in the 49th minute when 'keeper Turner failed to clear a cross and Sheridan had the easy job of tapping into an empty net.


Three minutes later Harvest Home benefitted from a similar goalkeeping error when Scott Macfallane fluffed a clearance and Nathan Newer was on hand to tap home.


Gotham nearly clawed one back when Stuart Marshall collected a long ball but Turner came off his line to make a brilliant save.


Michael Granger looked as if he had clinched the cup for Harvest Home when he nodded over the 'keeper but the wind took his shot wide after he collected the ball.


Harvest Home sewed the match up when unfortunately the Gotham 'keeper failed to keep a soft shot from Jes Patrick out in the 90th minute.


The Referee was Kieran Forrest and his Assistants were Steven Topazio and George Redford and the Fourth Official was Adrian Knight.


The match was sponsored by Child Trophies and the match ball was sponsored by the Typeface Group.


The Player of the Match Award went to Harvest Home's Nathan Newer.


The squads: Harvest Home - Billy Denley Billie Hall, Harvey Fletcher, Jess Patrick, Joe Turner, Josh England, Michael Granger, Mychal Kenneth-Griffin, Nathan Dale, Nathan Newer, Paul Chivers, Remi Cake, Steve Harris, Tom Jarman and Zach MacGregor.


Gotham F.C. - Shane Sheridan, Shane Fox, Dan Pingington, Lyam Teixceira, Charlie Patterson, Joe Bond, Adam Locke, Stuart Marshall, Scott Hancox, Tom Baker, Brett Barass, Scott McFallane, Joe Sullivan, Ryan Ashford, Paul Blenhan, Danny Pinninston and Adam Louka




Coal Exchange First 1 Twentyten Reserves 4 played at Wicor Recreation Ground on Saturday 27th April 2019.


A high wind made playing football at Wicor Recreation Ground difficult but nevertheless both teams coped well.


Twentyten were the first to show with Josh Bromley putting a free kick just over the bar but Coal Exchange hit back when Andy Ricketts with a good run and cross shot wide of the post.


The game swept to the other end and Twentyten's Ollie Knox picked up a long ball and chipped the 'keeper but the ball went over the bar and back came the Coal Exchange and in a nice move Matt Pople put his shot wide.


The best move of the half came when Ilyd Donets of the Coal Exchange was put through and with only the 'keeper to beat he sliced wide of the empty net.


The breakthrough came in the 40th minute when the Twentyten's Ed Hall had the easy chance to convert a loose ball which he pushed past 'keeper Ben Walker. Just on half time Walker made a great save to keep his club in the match.


Twentyten increased their lead in the 48th minute when confusion between defenders let in Hall who pounced on the loose ball to beat the 'keeper.


They went further in the 54th minute when Josh Bromley scored with a free kick and they could have scored again when awarded a penalty but hall hit the post and the rebound was cleared.


The Coal Exchange showed them how to convert a penalty in the 63rd minute when Matt Pople shot his spot kick home.The Coal Exchange nearly got back in the game when a poor clearance by 'keeper Adam Burridge fell to Donets but his shot was well saved.


Twentyten were back on top in the 78th minute with a well taken goal by Ollie Knox and were given another chance to score from a penalty in the 90th minute but this was saved by by Walker from Stephen Bean.


The Referee was Jacob Wright and his Assistants were David Coles and Eilidh Currie. The Fourth Official was Adrian Cook.


The match was sponsored by Child Trophies and the match ball was sponsored by Specsavers.


The Player of the Match Award went to Twentyten's Warren Hill.


The squads: Coal Exchange – Damon Beasley, Thomas Bigwood, James Carter, Ilya Donets, Paul Dyer, Ben Edmonds, Jamie Francis, Neil Francis, Greg Hasluck, Nick Howe, James Laycock, Matt Pople, Andy Ricketts, Craig Soper, Ben Walker and Patrick Mattison.


Twentyten Reserves – Jack Barrett, Jordan Wainwright, Frank Spacagna, Adam Burridge, Warren Hill, Mark Smith, Austin Inveigher, Sam Coombs, Tom Mole, Ed Hall, Craig Wilson, Stephen Bean, Ollie Knox, Jack Hulbert and Ollie Lacey.