Sunday Snr Winner

John Ward Sunday Senior Cup Match Report

Hampshire FA
A round up of the action from the John Ward Sunday Senior Cup Final on 28th April 2019



Loch and Quay 6 – Wicor Mill 4 - played at Westleigh Park home of Havant and Waterlooville F.C. on Sunday 28th April 2019


The 500 plus spectators at the John Ward Sunday Senior Cup final were treated to an astonishing match with the eventual winners scoring after 15 seconds, yes SECONDS! This early goal is assumed to be the fastest ever scored in a County mens' cup final but this is being checked by the H.F.A. statistician, Pratto Stato, who will pronounce soon. The goal was timed by the County's latest GSW technology (Gary's stop watch).

Sunday Snr 2

Despite opening the scoring in such a spectacular way, the cup winners were 4 -1 down at half time in this wonderful match.


On the whistle at the start of the match Loch and Quay's Olly Balmer sprinted away, chipped the 'keeper and scored and was back on the centre spot for the second kick-off in under a minute.


Wicor Mil appeared not to have been shaken by this early set back and in the 5th minute they were back on even terms. Jack Mitchell sprinted down the flank and beat the 'keeper with an angled shot from the edge of the penalty area. Three minutes later he scored again firing home through a crowded box as Loch and Quay failed to clear.


Wicor now dominated the rest of the half and in the 19th minute went further ahead when Josh Holmes collected a dink over the defence and beat Thomas Edmonds in goal from close range.

Sunday Snr 3

Holmes put in a great solo run from a breakaway resulted in him netting his second and Wicor's fourth goal in the 37th minute.


If spectators thought that the first half was exciting and looked forward to Wicor Mill pushing on to win the cup, they underestimate Loch and Quay who closed their lead in the 52nd minute, Balmer put them back in the game when he collected a through ball and netted with a superb shot.


Loch and Quay were now running the show as Wicor Mill noticeably tired and Balmer looked to have completed his hat trick when he hit the top of the net with the 'keeper stranded.


Wicor were hit by an injury substitution when Tom Froggatt was taken off with a suspected dislocated shoulder to be replaced by Curtis Robbins.


With the game drifting towards Loch and Quay, both sides made changes and the game changed dramatically in the last fifteen minutes.


In the 74th minute Loch and Quay's Danny Hiscock jinxed his way into the box and was pulled down. Balmer took the spot kick and duly completed his hat trick. Loch and Quay continued to press forward and had the chance to equalise when Ben Hatch found himself in a one to one situation with Lewis Ashton but as the 'keeper advanced his shot went wide.


In the 86th minute Hatch was involved in the equaliser when his shot was saved but not held and Danny Hiscock, running in, poked the ball over the line.


Loch and Quay took the lead for the first time since the first minute when the ball hit the bar in the 88th minute and Shane Sheridan shot the rebound home. What a comeback!


Wicor Mill came back and Sammy Kessack looked to have equalised but Lewis Ashton pulled off a great save.


The referee signalled five minutes added time and unfortunately for Wicor Mill Dan George was sent off for a second yellow card in the 90th+ 3rd minute and right at the death Sheridan conclusively secured the cup for Lock and Quay with a break from defence resulted in a cross which he converted.

Sunday Snr Winner

The Referee was Bruce Waymark and his Assistants were Rudi Burton and Michael Walsh. The Fourth Official was Carl Rooney.


The match ball was sponsored by the Martins Group.


The Player of the Match Award went to Loch and Quay's Olly Balmer.


The squads : Loch and Quay – Thomas Edmonds, Michael Barber, Chris Spears, Chris Dillon, James Keith, Dan Hiscock, Charlie Heggan, Ethan Maddocks, Chris Ballam , Shane Sheridan, Olly Balmer, Chris Senior, George Hatch, Ed Brewer, Ben Hatch, Barney Gritt and Tom Edmunds.


Wicor Mill – Lewis Ashton, Daniel George, Ashley Elliott, Thomas Frogatt, Luke James, Russell Vince, Grant Bentley, Jack Mitchell, Joe Hall, Bradley Stokes, Sammy Kessak, Josh Holmes, Jay Eames, Samuel Moore and Curt Robbins.

Match Report by John Moody 

Match Photos by Steve Harris