Russell Cotes Cup Final 2019

Hampshire FA
Report, Highlights and match photos from this years Russell Cotes Cup Final sponsored by Harold G Walker

Hampshire Football Association Russell Cotes Benevolent Cup Final sponsored by Harold G Walker Solicitors


Christchurch F. C. 0 Sholing F.C. 1


The Russell Cotes cup competition was founded in 1919 through the generosity of Sir Merton Russell Cotes who donated a magnificent cup for the final which has been played every year for exactly 100 years but the final at Hurn Bridge, Christchurch on Tuesday 7th May 2019 was the 99th because, due to bad weather, the 2001 final was never played. All proceeds from the finals have been donated to the Hampshire Football Association Benevolent Fund.


Having set the scene for a prestigious centenary game, the match never lived up to the event - we eagerly await the 100th final next year! Despite the lack of excitement for the 214 crowd, many of those in the ground never gave the match their full attention as they were transfixed by their phones as the miracle of Anfield developed and the emergence of the beatification of Klopp took place before their eyes!


The match was between two closely matched teams with defences dominating and attack play rather laking, neither goalkeeper in the first half was seriously challenged. There was some nice football played by both sides but neither could establish any dominance.


It was not until the 45th+3rd minute that some excitement occurred when Sholing's Brad Targett put in a penetrating run down the flank and into the box but his shot was blocked.


Just on half time Christchurch lost Josh Kirham through injury being replaced by Brad Gale.


The second half followed the pattern of the first and with both teams tiring, Sholing having perhaps the better of the play. Christchurch started well and Max Wilcox had a good shot well saved by Ryan Gosney. They made a change in the 52nd minute with Grant Cormack making way for Tom Cooper


Sholing came back and Dan Mason cut the ball back for Targett but he shot over the bar when well placed. In the 66th minute it looked as if they had taken the lead, Targett burst through, but his shot was saved but not held and Dan Mason following up saw the rebound booted off the line.


Sholing made a change in the 77th minute with Owen Roundell coming on for Pete Castle and as Sholing pressed forward Jake Hoole put the ball over the bar.


Christchurch made another change a few minutes later, Gale left the pitch to be replaced by Ben Satterley.


The Referee signalled four minutes added time as the match headed towards the dreaded penalty shoot-out, three minutes into that time Sholing's Jake Hoole swung over a cross and Targett rose well at the far post to head home and ensure the present Sholing club its first Russell Cotes cup.

Cup Presentation         Cup lift

Above: Hampshire FA Finance Director, Steve Yeomans presenting the cup to Sholing FC Captain Byron Mason (Photos by Ray Routledge)


The Referee was Alex James and his Assistants were Andrew Jones and Stephen Currie. The Fourth Official was Sean Jenkins. The match ball was sponsored by the Martins Group.


Below: Player of the Match Award, Sholing's Alex Sawyer being presented his trophy from Simon Nethercott of competition sponsors, Harold G Walker Solicitors (Photo by Ray Routledge) 

Man of the Match


The Squads: Christchurch F.C. - Max Frampton, Harvey Wright, Kieran Douglas, Grant Cormack, Billy Walker, Nick Swann, Ashley Pope, Max Wilcock, Josh Kirkham, Ben Satterley, Brad Gale, Alex Whitehouse, Dan Haynes, Brad Cherrett, Tom Cooper and Callum Butler,


Sholing F.C. - Ryan Gosney, Terry Cuthbertson, Marvin McLean, Pete Castle, Dan Miller, Jamie Bulpitt, Alex Sawyer, Byron Mason, Dan Mason, Jake Hoole, Brad Targett, Owen Royle, Owen Roundell, Kevin Brewster, James Johnson and Josh Carey.



Highlights provided by TBTV Football - click here to find out more