FA Cup 1

Saturday U13 and U14 Cup Finals Match Reports

John Moody for Hampshire FA
A round up of the action from the Saturday U13 and Saturday U14 Cup Finals on Saturday 23rd March!


Crofton Saints Lions 5 Hawley Youth Tigers 1 - played at Alton F.C. On Saturday 23rd March 2019

As neither side had won this cup in the past a close game was expected as both were eager to have their name engraved on the trophy.

Crofton made a brilliant start with a goal after only two minutes. Picking up a throw in, Denny Adams volleyed from the edge of the box.

The early goal gave Crofton the confidence to push on and a looping shot from Kieran Hillier went just over the bar. As Crofton put on the pressure Ted Beveridge put in Jonathon Butler but he failed to put away the chance, the ball rebounding to Beveridge and he scored almost on the goal line in the 17th minute.

Hart hit back and Max Wilson forced a great save from Max Plomer.

At the other end Matthew Paites forced a save from Hart's 'keeper Ben Williams.

Just before half time Crofton had a goal disallowed for offside.

Hart started the second half on the attack and Andre Logan forced another good save from Plomer but Crofton hit back and extended their lead 48th minute when Beveridge rounded two defenders and scored from close range.

Hart were not beaten however, Kai Coleman pulled one back after finishing a good cross-field move in the 51st minute.

Crofton were shaken but two goals from Cohwen Whitaker in the 57th and 61st minutes, which won him the Player of the Match Award, made sure of the victory. Both of his goals were similar in execution, finishing runs into the box and scoring with shots on the volley.

The Referee was Archie Simmonds and his two Assistants were Williams Drury-Smith and Liam Whitehorn. The Fourth Official was Scott Russell.

The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Systems and the match ball was sponsored by Ceratopia.


The squads: Crofton Saints Lions – Max Plomer, Ethan Mason, Owen Collins, Samuel Berry, Denny Adams, Alex Kerridge, Ted Beveridge, Cohwen Whitaker, Kieran Hillier, Matthew Plaites and Kieron Jenkins.


Hart Youth Tigers – Ben Williams, Joshua Kelly, Max Le Jeune, Toby Doyle, Lewis Hudson, Ollie Blisset, Ben Dudley, Jamie Sutton, Oliver Fitch, Kai Coleman, Tom Montgomery, Max Wilson, Andre Logan, Ben Edwards and Jake Woulds.





Aldershot Town 1 Southampton Regional Talent Centre 6 - played at Alton F.C. On Saturday 23rd March 2019


Both sides had the opportunity to add their name to the trophy for the first time in the seventh playing of the Under 14's competition.

Southampton certainly staked a claim by half time after a bright start from Aldershot. A long run set up a shot which was saved but not held with the ball rebounding to Aldershot's Cairan Judd who looped it home from outside the box.

Southampton replied almost immediately with Justin Dominey heading home a corner. The goal gave the Saints the boost they needed after the early setback and they went ahead in the 12th minute through Josh China who netted a rebound.

Two quick goals from Dominey in the 24th and 25th minutes rocked Aldershot back and which won him the Player of the Match award, and when Finn Evans bundled in a cross from Dominey in the 32nd the match looked all over.

Southampton started the second half on the attack and shots rained in on 'keeper who saved well on several occasions. As time ticked away Southampton began to get frustrated as they were unable to increase their score.

About 15 minutes from time the Saints withdrew their strike force and brought on the subs and scored with minutes! The ball was intercepted as Aldershot cleared their lines and Finn Evans side-footed the ball home from close range (66th minute).

Although Aldershot never gave up and did create a few chances, they were unable to add to their total.

The Referee was Caelan Geary and his Assistants were Joe Crockett and Mackenzie Morgan. Richard Kines was the Fourth Official.

The match was sponsored by Savvy Accountancy Solutions and the match ball was sponsored by Fleet Line Markers.


The squads – Aldershot Town – Ross Aylesbury, Elliott Gardiner, George Griggs, Archie Harris, Jackson Izquierdo, Cairan Judd, Jack Kastner, Deni Konstantinov, Hendry Kurti, Kian Smith, Ethan Lindo, Oli Lutterell, Will Marchant, Dwayne Nago, Oscar Roberts, Diogo Simoes, Finlay Western and Tom Wilkinson.


Southampton RTS – Jack Turner-Doll, Finn Evans, Heath Thornton, Sam Hansford, Lewis Howe, Owen Walsh, Scott Julyan, Max May, Luke Sheehy, Sonny Pike, Tom Henderson, Timothy Steele-Perkins, Harrison Dempsey, Jose China, Justin Dominey and Harry Dunlop.