The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

ON-THE-GROUND GRASSROOTS SUPPORT

This programme represents a major investment in the grassroots game and offers on-the-ground support to FA Charter Standard Clubs, leagues and target groups.

The FA sees the development of coaches as central to the development of the game, and working collaboratively accelerates learning and supports coaches’ development.

Mentoring support at a club could include:

  • Developing a whole club philosophy
  • Group coaching demonstrations
  • 1:1 coaching, match-day observation and support
  • Signposting to relevant courses and events
  • Needs analysis for individual coaches
  • Modelling of coaching sessions for individual coaches
  • Individual feedback
  • An individual learning programme

In 2015/16 the FA Coach Mentor Programme supported 9,383 coaches and 615 clubs.

 

Season 2017/18 Highlights

  • Hampshire FA had a total of 928 hours representing an investment of £23,212

  • Coach Mentor team have engaged with 254 coaches across Hampshire

  • Average time spent with each coach has increased from 2.61 hours to 3.66 hours
Register your interest to RECEIVE SUPPORT FROM a COACH mentor

MEET THE MENTORS

200 X 260 AL

Al Gardiner

Female

Location: Aldershot                            

180 X 240 AL

Arran Landregan        

Generic

Location: Basingstoke                           

200x267 AT

Alex Twitchen 

Coach Ed           

Location: East Hants                          

200x267 CH

Chris Hicks 

League

Location: Southampton                      

200x267 GB

Gareth Byres

Coach Education

Location:
Southampton                                         

Mark Powell

Female

Location: IOW                                     

LS

Lisa Savage

Female

Location:
Southampton                                         

Stewart Halliday

Generic

Location:
Bournemouth                        
                

Vicky Mahoney

Generic & Disability

Location: Gosport/  
Portsmouth                                            

FAQs

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

West Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com

Get In Touch

To receive support from The FA Coach Mentor programme, please contact;

Charlotte Brown 

By Phone: 01256 853017

By Email:
Charlotte.Brown@HampshireFA.com

When making initial contact please include your name, club name, number of teams and County FA affiliated to.