The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

ON-THE-GROUND GRASSROOTS SUPPORT

 

This programme represents a major investment in the grassroots game and offers on-the-ground support to FA Charter Standard Clubs, leagues and target groups.

The FA sees the development of coaches as central to the development of the game, and working collaboratively accelerates learning and supports coaches’ development.


Mentoring support at a club could include:

  • Developing a whole club philosophy
  • Group coaching demonstrations
  • 1:1 coaching, match-day observation and support
  • Signposting to relevant courses and events
  • Needs analysis for individual coaches
  • Modelling of coaching sessions for individual coaches
  • Individual feedback
  • An individual learning programme 

 

More for information, please view this video 

Get In Touch

To receive support from The FA Coach Mentor programme, please contact;

Charlotte Brown 

By Phone: 01256 853017

By Email:
Charlotte.Brown@HampshireFA.com

SUPPORT FOR COACHES THIS SEASON

For season 2019/20 we will be focusing our coach mentoring support in the following areas:

Qualification support – If you are due to attend a course or have recently attended a course and would like some help implementing the learning with your players.

Club Improvement Programme – . If you are not part of the Club Improvement Programme but believe an FA Coach Mentor could support your club.

Coaching in the female game – If you are a female coach or a coach who works with female players and would like support with your coaching.

Coaching in the disability game - If you are a disabled coach or a coach who works with disabled players and would like support with your coaching.

To register for support in any of the areas listed above please complete this form. All applications will be reviewed and we will respond in 14 days. If you have not heard back from us in 14 days

REGISTER YOUR INTEREST HERE 

season 2018/19 highlights

Here in the county we have 11 FA Coach Mentors supporting coaches within the grassroots game, last season they supported the County with;


Highlights - Hours

• The FA Coach Mentor Programme has delivered 973 hours across Hampshire during season 2018/19 

• This represents an investment of £24,325 into grassroots football in Hampshire

 
Highlights - Coaches Supported

• The FA Coach Mentor Programme has supported 789 coaches in Hampshire during season 2018/19 

• Our engagement with coaches has diversified with the mentor team supporting 450 white males, 214 white females, 96 BAME males, 29 BAME females, 14 disabled males and 2 disabled females

MEET THE COACH MENTOR TEAM

Alex Twitchen  

Location: East Hants

Email: Alex.Twitchen@thefa.com

200x267 AT

Daniel Piper

Location: Gosport

Email: Daniel.Piper@thefa.com

Dan Piper

Chris Smith

Location: North Hants

Email: Chris.Smith2@thefa.com

Chris Smith

Vicky Mahoney 

Location: Gosport / Portsmouth

Email: Vicky.Mahoney@thefa.com

Laura Grubb

Location: Portsmouth

Email: Laura.Grubb@thefa.com

Laura Grubb

Lisa Savage

Location: Southampton

Email: Lisa.Savage@thefa.com

LS

Al Gardiner

Location: Aldershot

Email: Alan.Gardiner@thefa.com

200 X 260 AL

Mark Powell

Location: Isle of Wight

Email: Mark.Powell@thefa.com

Chris Hicks

Location: Southampton

Email: Chris.Hicks2@thefa.com

Arran Landregan

Location: North Hants

Email: Arran.Landregan@thefa.com

180 X 240 AL

FAQs

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com